Live: Goal Setting

If you haven’t learned already you will learn soon enough that goal setting is a huge part of life, And a key factor to living a healthy lifestyle . Why, you may ask; well in this blog I am going to go into the importance of goal setting and time frames. I have attended university and am now attending college and goal setting is one of the things I’ve found most important not only in school, but in everyday life. Goals allow us as human beings, to grow and succeed in life as a whole. By setting a goal we can improve ourselves inside and out.

But what is a goal?

A goal is progress you expect or hope to achieve in a set amount of time. Now there are two types of goals; one being short term and the other being long term. A short term goal is a goal made to be achieved in a short amount of time this could be anywhere from a few weeks to a few years. Long term goals as you can guess are goals to be achieved in, yep, you guessed it, a long amount of time; this can be anywhere from a few years to a few decades. There is no certain range in which either of these categories hold, however, long term goals are usually something that takes years to achieve.

For example; a short term goal I myself have created is to lose 15 pounds by Christmas. Here I have chosen what I want to do and set a time frame but it is also good to state how you plan to achieve this goal as well. Therefore, I plan to do this through daily exercise, and eating healthy.

Note I am not saying I will be dieting. To lose weight you do not need to go to extremes cutting meals in half or skipping meals, you can achieve it by simply substituting unhealthy foods for healthier alternatives. Starving yourself is not the answer.

A long term goal I have is to blog more often I do not have a specific time frame which is also okay, because it is a goal I hope to keep up with and pursue continuously throughout my life. I hope to blog at least 3 times a week and I plan to achieve this by using the spare time I have commuting to blog.

You may be thinking to yourself right now, but how can this lead to a healthy lifestyle?

Answer, Simple by organizing you life into goals and creating plans for the future this can not only promote motivation to achieve these things but as well aid in stress relief. So do yourself a favour grab a sheet of paper, a computer or even your calendar and write your goal, how you are going to achieve it and your deadline and relief yourself of unnecessary stress and create a much more successful lifestyle. I’d love to see the goals you guys have created for yourself as well so feel free to post yours in the comments below and share your success stories once you deadline is up! I will keep you posted on mine also, come Christmas 🙂

-E.

Leave a Reply

